Down to Two in World Cup

I’ve really enjoyed the World Cup over the past month.  I haven’t been able to watch many games live, but have managed to catch up via DVR.

While soccer is the world’s most popular game it is also the most under appreciated here in the U.S.  That in itself is amazing because every parent I know has done the soccer thing with their kids.  Perhaps I’m on to something here.

For me the seed was planted when I attended the World Cup final in 1994 between Brazil and Italy.  Penalty kicks won it for Brazil.  For my kids the appreciation really didn’t grab hold until the game turned from kickball to real soccer  in middle school.  Watching my son go through high school as an all-state goalie gave me insight to the finer points of the game.

Soccer is a game of ebbs and flows which makes it difficult to tune in and out of like you can with baseball.  You need to sit down and watch the entire game.  The beauty of the game is not in the ending score, but what happens in between.  And the athletes are superb.  Having watched the MLS after a recent World Cup game was like watching high school in comparison.

Yes, I agree the flopping just has to stop.  Getting whacked in the ankle or kneed in the thigh can certainly hurt, but where the circus acts that succeed them come from is anybody’s guess.  Perhaps it evolved over time as the referee was running up to the point of the foul deciding if to levy a yellow card.  Nevertheless, it is part of the game.

So here we are in the final.  The world awaits.  Spain and  Netherlands.  My money is on Spain.  Enjoy it.

About Mike

Mike has been an executive in the biotechnology industry for the past 20 years. Mike is a graduate of University of California, Santa Barbara, earning Bachelors degrees in Business Economics and Geography. Mike also earned his MBA in Finance from California State University, Fresno. Mike is married to the mother of his 3 children and currently lives outside of Boulder, CO. In his spare time Mike enjoys hiking, fishing, skiing, reading and coaching basketball.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Down to Two in World Cup

  1. Peter Reynolds says:

    http://peterreynolds.wordpress.com/2010/07/08/now-i-understand-why-i-hate-english-football/

    The World Cup has been fantastic. Now I understand why I hate English football.

  2. minifesto says:

    I prefer Premier League. It is faster and much more exciting with better teams and managers. Football is a team game and needs intensive practice which is difficult in national teams. I regret that Jose Mourinyo is not still managing a Premier League club. What a great tactician and entertaining speaker.
    I found the World Cup boring with atrocious refereeing.

    I really enjoy American football. I started by listening to games where I would have to go up to the mountains around Caracas to get better radio reception. Y A Tittle’s shotgun still rings a bell.

    I discussed this once at lunch with an electronics firm’s management in Silicon Valley. They were impressed that an Englishman should like their game. When I got back to my hotel room that evening I found a big package of football books which enabled me to refine my knowledge of the game.

    American generosity is something I will alway remember from my 4 years in the USA plus of course many many visits.

    • Peter Reynolds says:

      Well I have to say that I disagree with you completely! The Premier League is boring as hell, full of overpaid primadonnas (see my link above). I found the World Cup thoroughly entertaining and the best football I’ve seen since the 70s.

      Of course none of it even comes close to Rugby Union which is a real sport involving much more skill, courage and intelligence than any other ball game.

Leave a Reply

