Reversing Direction May Help Decision Making

It’s pushing 80 today in Boulder and the bulbs are showing their colorful faces.  Like I do most days around the lunch hour I went for a walk to clear my head.

I use a few different walking routes from the office to keep it fresh.  Most of the time I’m unplugged from my IPod because I need to think things through or I open my mind to silence and let things in.  Today it was the later.

My thought today was if I reversed my direction the next time I took this walk I would see and notice things totally different.  We’ve all taken a 2-hour drive and upon the return route noticed something we didn’t see on our way there.

Often in business we get lured into believing we have the right system for decision making.  After all, we have perfected it over the years and it yields more right than wrong (at least in our own opinions).  But, what if you went at it in reverse?   Would arrive at the same decision, or did you miss anything you should have considered?

Try it next time.

About Mike

Mike has been an executive in the biotechnology industry for the past 20 years. Mike is a graduate of University of California, Santa Barbara, earning Bachelors degrees in Business Economics and Geography. Mike also earned his MBA in Finance from California State University, Fresno. Mike is married to the mother of his 3 children and currently lives outside of Boulder, CO. In his spare time Mike enjoys hiking, fishing, skiing, reading and coaching basketball.
This entry was posted in Management and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

